Mariscos de Markus

This post is also available in: German

Mariscos De Markus

Andalusian Lunch at Schmelzwerk

Andalusian recipes dominate the massive Sunday lunch at Schmelzwerk in den Sarottihöfen that Markus Herbicht is preparing for eat! berlin. Not surprising: it’s a part of Spain where the locals eat anything that creeps or swims in the sea. The Spanish call their beloved seafood Mariscos. And while few people are likely to mistake Herbicht for a common Spanish fishmonger, he feels comfortable declaring: “Spain and its seafood are part of my culinary DNA.” In the late 90s he served as chef de cuisine for the Kempinski resort in Estepona, a city in southern Spain.

Guests can expect outstanding courses characteristic of a Sunday family lunch with gambas, almejas and pulpo. A medley of the most favoured seafood, Arroz de Málaga, salads and vegetables the Andalusian way, and – of course – Aioli alongside fine wines from the Iberian Peninsula served by a fantastic team. The location for this event is something special as well: The “Sarotti Chocoladen und Cacao Aktiengesellschaft” started producing fine Berlin chocolate in 1883, unveiling their famous “Sarotti-Mohren” logo in 1918. Today the historically protected buildings of the Sarotti Höfe are home to a family-run hotel, a lovely cafe and the event rooms of Schmelzwerk in the former chocolate production space, including a chic bar and lavish celebration room.

Globetrotter Markus Herbicht has engaged with many different world cuisines and continues to draw on that experience today, the head of Schmelzwerk says. As a young sous-chef, the Saarland native worked in Johan Lafer’s Michelin star restaurant Le Val d‘Or before traveling to see the wider world. In Thailand, Herbicht spent three years cooking for the royal family, and after his time in Spain he served in a directorial role at Käfer in Munich and Borchardt in Berlin. He has tended to the culinary needs of many luminaries, including politicians such as Angela Merkel, Gerhard Schröder and Ronald Reagan and entertainment stars such as Madonna and Michael Jackson. Since 2011 his firm Markus Herbicht Catering has handled high-carat events such as the Berlin Aids gala and Borussia Dortmund‘s Bundesliga championship celebration.

  • Su. 25.2.
  • Seafood Lunch with accompaniyng wine
  • Schmelzwerk in den Sarottihöfen
  • Mehringdamm 55 | 10961 Berlin
  • Admission: 11:30 am | Start: 12:00 pm
  • 69,-

eat! Berlin
eat! Berlin

Mariscos de Markus

This post is also available in: English

Mariscos De Markus
Meeresfrüchte © Viktorija – stock.adobe.com,

Andalusischer Lunch im Schmelzwerk

Beim großen Sonntagslunch, den Markus Herbicht im Schmelzwerk in den Sarottihöfen für die eat! berlin zubereitet, wird nach andalusischen Rezepten verarbeitet, was da so vor den Küsten kreucht und schwimmt: Mariscos nennt der Spanier seine geliebten Meeresfrüchte. Auch wenn Herbicht nicht aussieht wie Carlos, der spanische pescador, so behauptet er doch mit Recht: „Spanien und seine Meeresküche sind Teil meiner kulinarischen DNA“. Ende der 90er war er für mehrere Jahre Küchendirektor des Kempinski Ressorts im südspanischen Estepona.

Auf die Gäste wartet ein typischer Lunch, wie man ihn in Spanien sonntags auf dem Familientisch findet: Viele ausgezeichnete Gänge mit Garnelen, Muscheln und pulpo, den beliebtesten Meeresfrüchten in vielen Variationen. Dazu gibt es Arroz de Málaga, Gemüse und Salate auf andalusische Art, natürlich mit Aioli – und einer entsprechenden Begleitung mit feinen Weinen von der iberischen Halbinsel, serviert von einem versierten Team. Auch der Veranstaltungsort ist etwas Besonderes: Die „Sarotti Chocoladen und Cacao Aktiengesellschaft“ produzierte seit 1883 feine Berliner Schokolade in der damaligen Belle-Alliance-Straße, seit 1918 mit dem bekannten Firmensignet, dem „Sarotti-Mohren“.

Heute findet man im denkmalgeschützten Ensemble der Sarotti-Höfe ein familiäres Hotel, ein nettes Café und eben die Veranstaltungsräume des Schmelzwerk in der ehemaligen Schokoladenfabrik, mit schicker Bar und prächtigem Festsaal.

Der Globetrotter Markus Herbicht hat viele Küchen der Welt kennengelernt, davon profitiere er bis heute, sagt der Chef des Schmelzwerks. Als junger Souschef arbeitete der gebürtige Saarländer im Sternerestaurant Le Val d‘Or von Johan Lafer im Hundsrück, dann lockte ihn die weite Welt. In Thailand kochte Herbicht drei Jahre lang für die Königsfamilie, nach seiner Zeit in Spanien war er unter anderem bei Käfer in München oder im Berliner Borchardt in leitender Funktion tätig. Er verwöhnte viel Prominenz mit seinen Gerichten, darunter Politgrößen wie Angela Merkel, Gerhard Schröder oder Ronald Reagan und Showsterne wie Madonna oder Michael Jackson. Seit 2011 richtet er mit seiner Firma Markus Herbicht Catering auch hochkarätige Events wie die Berliner Aids-Gala oder die Meisterschaftsfeier von Borussia Dortmund aus.

  • So. 25.2.
  • Andalusischer Meeresfrüchte-Lunch mit Weinbegleitung
  • Schmelzwerk in den Sarottihöfen
  • Mehringdamm 55 | 10961 Berlin
  • Einlass: 11.30 Uhr | Beginn: 12.00 Uhr
  • 69,-

eat! Berlin
eat! Berlin