Tristan & Tristan

This post is also available in: German

Tristan Und Tristan

Two Michelin Stars,
and five courses at the Museum of Natural Science

They‘re both called Tristan, and are also both stars in their field: The first bears the surname Otto and is damned old – almost 66 million years, if archaeological studies of the skeleton found in Montana in 2012 are to be believed. The second Tristan goes by the family name of Brandt and is, at just 33, damned young, at least by comparison. Especially since his Mannheim restaurant Opus V has already cooked its way to 18 points (three toques) in Gault&Millau and a second Michelin star.

For this year’s eat! berlin festival we’ve arranged for a meeting between these two vastly different attention-getters. Our rendezvous will by necessity take place in Berlin, as the older Tristan weighs seven tons and is somewhat less mobile. The younger Tristan is enormously flexible, traveling up from Mannheim with his restaurant team with plans for five well-appointed tables and five fantastic courses to cover them, all in front of his friend with the same name.

The dinosaur room is an unusual location, even for this unusual young chef.

Tristan Brandt learned at the hand of Manfred Schwarz in Heidelberg, worked under Harald Wohlfahrt in the Schwarzwaldstube and had stays ab-road at Jean-Georges Klein in Alsace and Shanghai, where he drew new inspiration for German star cooking. He assumed the role of head chef at Opus V in 2012, one of four fine restaurants in the elegant Kaufhaus Engelhorn in Mannheim. Brandt has since risen to managing director as well. His modern cuisine draws heavily from the French school, yet with creative enhancements through local and Asian ingredients that combine seemingly antithetical aromas into harmonious tastes. His appetizers on this evening will for example include an ingenious combination of pate, smoked eel and yuzu; the main course will feature turbot served with members of the onion family and blood sausage.

The wine will come from the hand of Carolin Spanier-Gillot of the Rheinhessen estate Weingut Kühling-Gillot (VDP) and Gunter Keßler from Weingut Münzberg (VDP) of the Pfalz, both stars in their field as well. Expect nothing less than a radiant evening.

  • We. 28.2.
  • 5-course menu with accompanying wines 
  • Natural History Museum
  • Invalidenstraße 43 | 10115 Berlin
  • Admission: 8:00 pm | Start: 8:30 pm
  • 179,-

eat! Berlin
eat! Berlin

Tristan & Tristan

This post is also available in: English

Tristan Und Tristan

Zwei Sterne und fünf Gänge im Naturkundemuseum

Beide heißen Tristan, beide sind Stars auf ihrem Gebiet: Der erste, mit zweitem Namen Otto, ist verdammt alt, rund 66 Millionen Jahre schätzen die Archäologen, die das Skelett 2012 in Montana ausgruben. Der zweite Tristan heißt mit Nachnamen Brandt, und ist, um beim Vergleich zu bleiben, mit 33 Jahren verdammt jung, vor allem dafür, dass er mit seinem Mannheimer Restaurant Opus V bereits 18 Punkte (drei Hauben) im Gault&Millau und einen zweiten Michelin-Stern erkocht hat.

Für unser eat! berlin Festival haben wir in diesem Jahr ein Treffen dieser beiden so unterschiedlichen Stars arrangiert. Natürlich in Berlin, da der ältere Tristan mit seinen sieben Tonnen Gewicht etwas unbeweglich ist. Der jüngere Tristan ist erheblich flexibler, er reist mit seinem Restaurantteam aus Mannheim an und wird an fünf schön eingedeckten Tischen fünf fantastische Gänge zu Füßen des Namensvetters servieren lassen.

Der Dinosauriersaal ist eine ungewöhnliche Location für einen ebenso ungewöhnlichen, jungen Koch.

Tristan Brandt lernte bei Manfred Schwarz in Heidelberg, arbeitete unter Harald Wohlfahrt in der Schwarzwaldstube und bei Auslandsaufenthalten bei Jean-Georges Klein im Elsass sowie in Shanghai, wo er neue Impulse für die deutsche Sterneküche gewann. 2012 übernahm er das Opus V als Küchenchef, das Restaurant ist aber nur eines von vier gehobenen Restaurants im angesagten Kaufhaus Engelhorn in Mannheim, die Brandt nun auch als Geschäftsführer leitet. Grundlage seiner modernen Küche ist die französische Schule, die er mit lokalen und asiatischen Zutaten kreativ verändert, scheinbar gegensätzliche Aromen so kombiniert, dass dennoch harmonischer Geschmack entsteht. So wird bei den Vorspeisen die tolle Kombination aus Gänseleber, Räucheraal und Yuzu zum Menü gehören, ebenso der Steinbutt als Hauptgang, der mit Zwiebelgewächsen und Blutwurst serviert wird.

Für die Weinbegleitung sorgen Carolin Spanier-Gillot vom rheinhessischen Weingut Kühling-Gillot (VDP) und Gunter Keßler vom pfälzischen Weingut Münzberg (VDP), beide ebenfalls Stars auf ihrem Gebiet. Das wird ein leuchtender Abend.

  • Mi. 28.2.
  • 5-Gänge Menü mit Weinbegleitung
  • Naturkundemuseum
  • Invalidenstraße 43 | 10115 Berlin
  • Einlass: 20.00 Uhr | Beginn: 20.30 Uhr
  • 179,-

eat! Berlin
eat! Berlin