Suche

Homo Austriacus

This post is also available in: German

Restaurant Volt © Florian Lein

Or: An epicure from the hills descends on Berlin

He comes from somewhere in the deep valleys between Lake Constance and Lake Neusiedl, from the land between the peak of the Zugspitze and the Watzmann Massif. There, in the tracts between Germany, Switzerland, Slovenia and the Czech Republic, lives “Homo Austriacus.” Largely unknown to science, without even a Wikipedia entry to call his own, this species is only known to experienced academics in the gourmet sciences, a specialized branch of ethnology.

Homo Austriacus is a sub-species of the better-known Homo Europeensis Medialis Delectationis, or the “European Epicure” for short. The Austriacae family is famed, even infamous, for its predilection for flour-based dishes and love of beverages from fermented grapes. In short: the members of this genus love everything that tastes good. No wonder then that its roomy natural habitat, known as “Austria,” looks almost like a perfectly shaped Wiener Schnitzel.

As the festival director of eat! berlin himself has “Homo Austriacus” anacestors, it seemed high time to observe up close several individuals from the genus.

The scientific plan: have them prepare a five-course menu of the kind they, highly developed epicures that they are, would like to eat.

As representative of the Austriacus diaspora, we successfully lured the following born-and-bred specimens for our evening in Volt: Franz Raneburger, former director at the famed Bamberger Reiter and Remise in Glienicke; star chef Kurt Jäger, much missed in Berlin, as is his First Floor; and young winegrower Martin Nittnaus from the Burgenland, whose father, Hans Nitt-naus, is a big name from the new generation of winemakers and renowned for his high-quality Blaufränkisch and Zweigelt. Another key role in our academic exhibit: the wines of Weingut Allram in the Kamp Valley. Michaela Haas-Allram will be on hand personally to present the minimalist and mineral Veltliner from her family‘s estate.

The host for this ethnological excursion will be Matthias Gleiß (three toques), a native Berliner and member of the “Homo Berlinicus Schnauzicus” genus. He is known as a major proponent of the Austriacus culinary arts; as a leading ethnologist in this field, he is extremely well acquain-ted with the characteristics of his epicurean colleagues and their recipes. This instructive evening in his restaurant Volt will bring a bit of that Viennese Schmäh, or charm, to our festival. For science, of course!

  • Fr. 2.3.
  • 5-course menu with accompanying wines
  • Restaurant Volt
  • Paul-Lincke-Ufer 21 | 10999 Berlin
  • Admission: 6:30 pm | Start: 7:00 pm
  • 129,-
Franz Raneburger
Kurt Jäger

E-Mail Telefon Telefon
Kontakt

eat! berlin GmbH

E-Mail: mahlzeit[at]eat-berlin.de
Telefon: +49 (0)30 . 23 456 845




Schriftgröße einstellen:

Homo Austriacus

This post is also available in: English

Homo Austriacus
Restaurant Volt © Florian Lein

Oder: der genussvolle (Wein-)Bergmensch zu Gast in Berlin

Irgendwo in den tiefen Tälern zwischen Bodensee und Neusiedlersee, zwischen den Gipfeln der Zugspitze bis zum Massiv des Watzmanns, mittendrin zwischen Deutschland, der Schweiz, Slowenien und Tschechien, da lebt der „Homo Austriacus“. Weitgehend unerforscht und noch mit keinem Wikipedia-Eintrag belegt, ist diese Spezies nur eingeweihten Genussforschern bekannt, einer besonderen Fachrichtung der Ethnologie.

Denn beim Homo Austriacus handelt es sich um eine Unterart des Homo Europeensis Medialis Delectationis, kurz europäischer Genießer genannt. Die Familie der Austriaticae ist vor allem für ihre Liebe zu Mehlspeisen und zu Getränken aus vergorenen Trauben bekannt und auch berüchtigt. Kurz gesagt: Die Mitglieder der Gattung lieben alles, was gut schmeckt. Kein Wunder auch, dass ihr weitläufiges Siedlungsgebiet namens Österreich ausgerechnet die Form eines perfekten Wiener Schnitzels hat.

Da der Festivalleiter der eat! berlin auch Vorfahren aus dieser Gattung des „Homo Austriacus“ hat, lag es nah, einige Exemplare einzuladen und sie, da Österreicher nun mal genießen müssen, ein Fünfgang-Menü für uns kochen zu lassen.

Stellvertretend für alle Exilanten konnten wir folgende genussorientierte Vertreter der Spezies für den Abend im Volt gewinnen: Franz Raneburger, ehemaliger Chef des berühmten Bamberger Reiter und der Remise in Glienicke, Sternekoch Kurt Jäger, den die Berliner samt seines Harlekin enorm vermissen, und Vorzeigewinzer Martin Nittnaus aus dem Burgenland, dessen Vater Hans Urgestein der neuen Winzerszene ist und für seine hochwertigen Blaufränkischen und Zweigelt berühmt wurde. Eine weitere Hauptrolle spielen die Weine des Weinguts Allram aus dem Kamptal. Michaela Haas-Allram wird die mineralisch-puristischen Veltliner ihres Familienweinguts ebenfalls persönlich präsentieren.

Gastgeber des ethnologischen Ausfluges ist Matthias Gleiß (drei Hauben), als gebürtiger Berliner Mitglied der Gattung „Homo Piefkeniensis“. Er ist bekannt als großer Freund der austriatischen Kochkunst, als führender Ethnologe auf diesem Fachgebiet ist er mit den Eigenheiten der Genießerkollegen und ihren Rezepten bestens vertraut. Der lehrreiche Abend in seinem Restaurant Volt wird sicher zu den Höhepunkten unseres Festivals gehören – ganz ohne Schmäh.

  • Fr. 2.3.
  • 5-Gänge Menü mit Weinbegleitung
  • Restaurant Volt
  • Paul-Lincke-Ufer 21 | 10999 Berlin
  • Einlass: 18.30 Uhr | Beginn: 19.00 Uhr
  • 129,-
Franz Raneburger
Kurt Jäger

eat! Berlin
eat! Berlin